Nebraska Homeschool Laws & Requirements
Homeschooling requirements in Nebraska may seem a bit overwhelming. But once you’ve filed the initial paperwork with the Nebraska Department of Education, things get fairly easy. Homeschools are considered “exempt schools” and are governed by Rule 13. This rule provides the standards and procedures parents must follow. The main requirement is that you equip your students in all basic skills.
On this page you’ll learn about what you need to legally homeschool your child in Nebraska. You’ll learn how to meet the requirements and get a better understanding of Nebraska’s homeschool laws.
- Nebraska Homeschooling Laws
- Your Notice of Intent
- Homeschool Recordkeeping in Nebraska
- Homeschool Graduation Requirements in Nebraska
- Returning to Public School after Homeschooling
- Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Nebraska
This information should by no means be interpreted as legal advice. It is your responsibility to interpret and understand the laws that you will be homeschooling under.
Nebraska Homeschooling Laws
So what do you need to homeschool your child in Nebraska? To legally and successfully homeschool in Nebraska, parents will need to follow these steps:
- Parents of children ages 6-18 must comply with NDE mandatory attendance law..
- Complete and submit all required forms to the Exempt School Program Office by July 15th each year:
- Form A: Statement of Execution and Assurances
- Form B: Authorized Parent Representative Form
- Instructional Summary detailing your homeschooling program,
- Include a certified birth certificate for all children.
* Forms can be found here
- Teach language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, and health ensuring that all students master all basic skills.
- Teach 1,032 hours to all elementary students and 1,080 hours to all secondary students.
- It is recommended that homeschooling parents keep records of attendance data and complete transcripts of all classes and grades.
- Parents who elect to homeschool for reasons other than religious beliefs, will need to keep up to date immunization records.
More information relating to the home education rules for Nebraska can be found at A2ZHomeschooling.com.
Nebraska Homeschool Laws Info
Your Notice of Intent
The notice of intent to homeschool in Nebraska is a set of forms. In order to begin homeschooling, parents need to file for exempt status as per Rule 13 by the 15th of July each year. You must file with the NDE Exempt School Program Office. Although the NDE prefers parents submit their forms online, you may file for exempt status via paper documents. Whether you choose to file by paper or digitally, the process is as follows:
- Complete and sign Form A: Statement of Election and Assurances (signed by both parents or legal guardians
- Complete and sign Form B: Authorized Parent Representative Form (signed by the designated parent representative)
- Complete the yearly Informational Summary which notes the dates of operation, name, age, and highest grade completed for each teacher including parents, and a description of all curriculum materials for each child/grade level
- Submit all forms accompanied by a certified birth certificate for each child being homeschooled unless previously submitted.
Homeschool Recordkeeping in Nebraska
Nebraska homeschool law does not address recordkeeping. However, it is recommended for homeschooling parents to keep basic records such as transcripts of classes and grades, and a lesson plan book or log, and up-to-date immunization records.
Many homeschooling parents also opt to create individual homeschool portfolios for each student as a way to validate all the hard work and effort as well as commemorate accomplishments and victories.
Homeschool Graduation Requirements in Nebraska
While it isn’t required, parents or guardians should consider filing a course completion notice to the Department of Education. The state of Nebraska will be able to recognize the completion of the students homeschool studies. Below, you can find information about homeschooling high school.
|Nebraska diploma requirements||Students must complete a minimum of 200 credit hours of which 145 hours must be in core subjects (English and language arts, mathematics, social studies, science, and health) as well as complete coursework in health, physical education, fine arts, foreign language, and approved electives as per individual school districts.||Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements and can issue their own homeschool diploma; students of private/online schools may receive diplomas from those institutions.|
|Nebraska high school testing requirements||All third-year students must take the ACT Reading, English, Math, Science and Writing each spring.||Homeschool students are not subject to testing requirements for graduation.|
|Nebraska high school transcripts||Students need to contact their high school in order to request copies of their transcript. (Individual high schools have varying policies and procedures.)||Homeschool parents may create their own student transcripts, and may include any information they deem pertinent to colleges, military, and/or future workplace organizations.|
|Nebraska high school course credits||Students must complete a minimum of 200 credit hours of which 145 hours must be in core subjects categorized as follows: 40 credits in English/language arts, 30 credits in mathematics, 30 credits in social studies, and 30 credits in science. Also, students must take courses in health, physical education, fine arts, foreign language, and approved electives.||Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements; for the purpose of creating transcripts, some homeschool parents do assign credits to individual courses.|
|GED eligibility||Students must be 16 or 17 to apply to take the GED and can visit the Nebraska Adult Education and GED site for a printable application.||The same requirements for eligibility apply to homeschoolers as to public school students.|
Returning to Public School after Homeschooling
One of the benefits of homeschooling is the freedom to stop at any time. If, after a period of teaching your child at home, you realize that homeschooling your children is no longer the right fit for your family, you’ll need to know how to transfer from homeschool to public school.
Nebraska homeschooling parents who desire to cease homeschooling will need to notify the NDE in writing by mail or email. Clearly state in the letter your intention to enroll your child in a Nebraska state approved and/or accredited school.
Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Nebraska
Have other questions about homeschooling in Nebraska ? You may find the following pages helpful.
- Homeschooling in Nebraska
- Nebraska Homeschooling Groups & Co-ops
- Nebraska Homeschool Associations
- Homeschool Field Trips in Nebraska
Welcome to Homeschooling Guide
Download this FREE resource where experienced homeschoolers share their stories for how to begin homeschooling, understanding your child academically, planning your days, and much more.