Kentucky Homeschool Laws

Kentucky Homeschool Laws
View our Lesson Demos

The requirements to homeschool in Kentucky are some of the most straightforward and easy to follow in the country. Kentucky has no reporting requirements (aside from a yearly letter of intent to homeschool), no mandated standardized testing, and no portfolio review. Below, we will cover a summary of the main regulations regarding homeschooling as well as how to notify your local superintendent of your intention to homeschool, what records you may want to keep, and even how to return to public school if you bring your homeschool to an end prior to your child’s graduation.

*This should by no means be interpreted as legal advice. It is your responsibility to interpret and understand the laws that you will be homeschooling under.

Requirements to Start Homeschooling in Kentucky

Under state law, all children between the ages of 6 and 18 must be enrolled in school. This can include enrollment in a public, private, church, or homeschool. Since Kentucky has no homeschool statute, homeschoolers fall under the “private schools” statute which makes the legal requirements simple. These are the basic Kentucky homeschool regulations to follow in terms of getting started:

  • Each year, notify the board of education in your county within 10 days of the beginning of the school year of your intention to homeschool.
  • Keep attendance records along with scholarships reports (these are not submitted, but rather are kept in your own portfolio).
  • Teach a minimum school term of 1,062 instructional hours.
  • Ensure you teach reading, writing, spelling, grammar, history, mathematics, and civics to your homeschooler (these are minimums…you can certainly teach any additional subjects you choose).

Also, if your child is currently enrolled in a public, private, or church school in Kentucky, it is a good idea to send your current school a formal withdrawal letter when you first begin homeschooling, to let them know that your child will no longer be attending.

Full details and additional links relating to the home education laws for Kentucky can be found at A2ZHomeschooling.com.

More Kentucky Homeschool Laws Info

Your Letter of Notification

From the first time you begin homeschooling, whether it’s in kindergarten or in the middle of a school year, you have 10 days to file the initial letter of intention. Then, you simply continue to file it within the first two weeks of each school year as long as your homeschool stays active.

This letter is best sent by certified mail, and should be addressed to your local superintendent of schools. The letter should include the name of your homeschool, and the names, ages, and address of each child enrolled in your homeschool. For a sample letter of notification visit this link on the Christian Home Educators of Kentucky organization.

Homeschool Recordkeeping in Kentucky

Although Kentucky does not require that you submit any of your attendance or student performance records to the state, it does ask that you keep those records on file. Specifically, the records recommended include:

  • Summarized or tabulated records of a student’s scholarship (there is no formal description of what this might entail)
  • Attendance records

While these items are the minimum required of homeschooling families in KY, there are multiple benefits of keeping an organized homeschool portfolio. For instance, if you return to public or private school, having a record of your child’s progress can help administrators place your child into the proper grade level. In addition, if you homeschool during the high school years, all records that you keep will aid you in creating an accurate transcript that can be shared with potential colleges your child may wish to apply with.

Returning to Public School after Homeschooling

If your family decides to suspend your homeschool endeavors before your child has graduated, you will then need to know how to enroll a homeschooled child in public school. Homeschooling is a commitment, for sure, but it is also a commitment that needs to be reevaluated each year to determine if it is still working for your student and your family. To switch from homeschooling to public school, you do not need to notify your public school superintendent. Instead, you would simply not renew your intention to homeschool the next time it is due. Also, you would decide which school you will be transferring your student to and contact them to get their enrollment procedures.

Keep in mind that when enrolling in a school after homeschooling, each school will have different protocols for determining placement. Some schools will simply ask you to decide what grade level you want to place your child. Others may ask to review records relating to your child’s academic progress while homeschooling and some may even require assessment testing to determine proper placement.

Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Kentucky

Have other questions about homeschooling in Kentucky? You may find the following pages helpful.

Welcome to Homeschooling Guide

Download this FREE resource where experienced homeschoolers share their stories for how to begin homeschooling, understanding your child academically, planning your days, and much more.

Get My Homeschool Guide Now!

PreK - 8th

$19.95$24.95
  • Monthly First Student
  • $14.95/month for each additional student

9th - 12th

$30.00$34.95
  • Monthly Per Student
  • Includes 4 courses

Get Started!

Stop, Start, Pause Anytime

Sign Up

TOP