Log InSign Up

Wyoming Homeschool Laws & Requirements

Wyoming Homeschool Laws & Requirements
View Our Lesson Demos!

Homeschool laws in the Equality State are relaxed thus giving parents great freedom to teach their children in the way that best suits their students’ needs. Parents can choose a curriculum and create a personalized schedule that best fits their family’s lifestyle. There is no annual testing or assessment requirements. So, homeschoolers in Wyoming have great freedom to focus on teaching and mentoring their children.

On this page you will find everything you need to know about Wyoming’s homeschool requirements.

This information should by no means be interpreted as legal advice. It is your responsibility to interpret and understand the laws that you will be homeschooling under.

Wyoming Homeschooling Laws

There are 3 main requirements to homeschool in Wyoming:

  1. Submit a letter of intent to homeschool to your local school district either by mail or online registration for all children 7-16 every year.
  2. Submit a summary of your curriculum and all materials you plan to use for that academic year to your local school board. This must be submitted every year you plan to homeschool.
  3. Teach the required subjects: reading, writing, literature, mathematics, science, civics, and history.

More information relating to the home education rules for Wyoming can be found at can be found at A2ZHomeschooling.com.

Full Details of Wyoming’s Homeschool Laws

Your Notice of Intent

In Wyoming, parents can begin homeschooling at any time during the year. Homeschool parents simply need to send a letter to the superintendent’s office or complete the registration form provided by the district. Every year, parents must include a list of their curriculum choices for each of the required subjects with their letter of intent. If you do not include the curriculum information, your application will be considered non-compliant.

Homeschool Recordkeeping in Wyoming

The WDE does not require recordkeeping. However, homeschooling parents are advised to keep essential records such as transcripts of classes and grades, a lesson plan book or log for each student, and up-to-date immunization records.

Many homeschool parents choose to create individual homeschool portfolios for each student. These make great keepsakes as well as serve to validate your students’ hard work and effort.

Homeschool Graduation Requirements in Wyoming

As in most states, homeschool graduation requirements in Wyoming are determined by the parents. The WDE requires no testing or evaluation. However, if you are considering enrolling your high school students in public or private school, please refer to the comparison chart below:

  Public/Private School Homeschool
Wyoming diploma requirements Students must complete 4 years of English, 3 years of mathematics, 3 years of science (1 year may be computer science), 3 years of social studies (history, American Government, and Economics), and earn a passing grade on the principles of the US constitution and state of WY exam. Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements and can issue their own homeschool diploma; students of private/online schools may receive diplomas from those institutions.
Wyoming high school testing requirements Students must pass the principles of the US constitution and state of WY exam as well as show minimum proficiency in core knowledge and skills. 10th graders take the WY-TOPP and 11th graders take the ACT reading, writing, language, math, and science. Homeschool students are not subject to testing requirements for graduation.
Wyoming high school transcripts Students should contact their school district or fill out a transcript request form through the WY State Archives Homeschool parents may create their own student transcripts, and may include any information they deem pertinent to colleges, military, and/or future workplace organizations.
Wyoming high school course credits Students must complete 4 years of English, 3 years of mathematics, 3 years of science, 3 years of social studies Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements; for the purpose of creating transcripts, some homeschool parents do assign credits to individual courses.
GED eligibility Students must be 18, otherwise, students who are 16/17 may apply for a waiver through the state GED office. The same requirements for eligibility apply to homeschoolers as to public school students.

Returning to Public School after Homeschooling

One of the benefits of homeschooling is the freedom to stop when you feel it’s no longer the best choice for your family. In this case, you’ll need to know how to enroll your children in either a private or public school. In Wyoming, homeschooling parents should contact the local school district’s administration office. The administrative personnel will guide you through the process of enrollment.

Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Wyoming

Have other questions about homeschooling in Wyoming? You may find the following pages helpful.

Welcome to Homeschooling Guide

Download this FREE resource where experienced homeschoolers share their stories for how to begin homeschooling, understanding your child academically, planning your days, and much more.

Get My Homeschool Guide Now!

PreK - 8th

$19.95$24.95
  • Monthly First Student
  • $14.95/month for each additional student

9th - 12th

$30.00$34.95
  • Monthly Per Student
  • Includes 4 courses

Get Started!

Stop, Start, Pause Anytime

Sign Up

TOP