Oregon Homeschool Laws & Requirements
Oregon homeschool laws aren’t necessarily considered stringent. As long as you comply with the rules for homeschooling in Oregon, your child is exempt from having to attend public school. When it comes to curriculum choice, the state allows parents to decide what homeschool program(s) to use as well as what subjects to teach. Although standardized testing is required in grades 3, 5, 8, and 10, families can choose the test of their choice as long as it’s approved by the state’s board of education and administered by a state approved tester.
Learn more about these and other Oregon homeschool laws, including recordkeeping, graduation requirements, and more below.
- Oregon Homeschooling Requirements
- Oregon Homeschool Letter of Intent
- Homeschool Recordkeeping in Oregon
- Homeschool Graduation Requirements in Oregon
- Returning to Public School after Homeschooling
- Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Oregon
This information should by no means be interpreted as legal advice. It is your responsibility to interpret and understand the laws that you will be homeschooling under.
Oregon Homeschooling Requirements
Complying with Oregon homeschool laws is pretty straightforward. Just make sure to follow three simple rules for homeschooling in the Beaver state:
- Submit a one-time Notice of Intent (NOI) to homeschool form to your local Education Service District (ESD).
- Have your child take a standardized test in grades 3, 5, 8, and 10.
- If you child has any disabilities, address them by having your child evaluated for satisfactory educational progress (optional)
Oregon Homeschool Letter of Intent
The first step in order to start homeschooling in Oregon is to complete a Notice of Intent (NOI) Form. The NOI must be submitted to your local ESD within 10 days of starting your homeschool program or within 10 days of withdrawing your child from public school.
Your notice of intent should include:
- Name, address, and date of birth for all children being homeschooled.
- The name of the school your child attends or previously attended, or if he or she never attended school, the name of the school district where you reside.
You should receive a receipt of acknowledgement from the ESD within 90 days.
More information relating to the home education rules for Oregon can be found at A2ZHomeschooling.com.
Full Details of Oregon’s Homeschool Laws
Homeschool Recordkeeping in Oregon
In Oregon, parents aren’t required to submit any homeschool portfolios. It is always recommended though to keep a record of what your child does in order to keep track of the work completed and progress made throughout the years. In addition, if your child is planning on receiving a post secondary education or enrolling in public school after homeschooling, having a portfolio or high school transcript will be useful, and in some cases, necessary.
Homeschool Graduation Requirements in Oregon
Although there aren’t any homeschool graduation requirements in Oregon, parents and students can set their own depending on their goals and post high school plans. Oregon has minimum graduation requirements for students in public schools, however homeschoolers are not required to follow them. Homeschooled students in Oregon are not awarded a high school diploma by the ESD, however, parents can issue their own homeschool diploma if they so choose.
Enrolling in Public School after Homeschooling
If you student is going to enroll in public school after homeschooling, you must contact your local district to find out what they require. School districts throughout the state may have differing policies and procedures when it comes to reviewing a student’s homeschool records or transcripts in order to determine if, and how many, credits can be awarded.
Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Oregon
Have other questions about homeschooling in Oregon? You may find the following pages helpful.