Log InSign Up

North Dakota Homeschool Laws & Requirements

North Dakota Homeschool Laws & Requirements
View Our Lesson Demos

Requirements to legally homeschooling in North Dakota may sound like a lot, but complying with these rules isn’t all that complicated. There are 2 options parents can homeschool under. And on this page you’ll find a clear and comprehensive summary of North Dakota’s homeschool laws for each option, so you can choose the best option for your family’s needs.

This information should by no means be interpreted as legal advice. It is your responsibility to interpret and understand the laws that you will be homeschooling under.

North Dakota Homeschooling Laws

So, what are the requirements for homeschooling in North Dakota? Below you will find the necessary requirements specific to the homeschooling option you chose.

Under the home education law

  1. Meet the teacher qualifications
    1. Must have a high school diploma or GED, or
    2. Have a North Dakota certified teacher “monitor” your first two years of homeschooling
  2. File a notice of intent to homeschool 14 days before you start every year
  3. Teach your child a minimum of 175 days each year and 4 hours each (school) day
  4. Teach the required subjects:
    1. Math, language arts, social studies, science, physical education and health in elementary and middle school
    2. Math, language arts, social studies, science, physical education and foreign languages or fine arts or career and technical education in high school
  5. Maintain records (including records of courses taken, test scores and  academic progress assessments)
  6. Participate in standardized tests in grades 4, 6, 8 and 10

Homeschooling as a private school

  1. Be a North Dakota certified teacher
  2. Undergo criminal history record check
  3. Teach your child a minimum of 180 days
  4. Subjects required in public schools must be taught in your homeschool
  5. File a notice of intent every year

For those who wish to homeschool a child with special needs in North Dakota, you must comply with the following requirements:

  1. Submit notice of intent to homeschool
  2. Provide a copy of the child’s diagnosis from doctor
  3. File a service plan with the school district superintendent (developed privately or through school district)
  4. Service plan must meet the child’s special needs and be addressed by persons qualified to provide special education
  5. File progress reports prepared by the services plan team, by November 1, February 1, and May 1 every year.

Homeschooled students in North Dakota are eligible to participate in extracurricular activities in their school district or in an approved nonpublic school through open enrollment. The same rules that apply to full-time students will apply to homeschooled students. Parents must provide notification of the selection using the notice of intent form.

More information relating to home education rules for North Dakota can be found at A2ZHomeschooling.com.

Full Details of North Dakota’s Homeschool Laws

Your Notice of Intent

If you are switching from public school to homeschooling in North Dakota, you must submit a Statement of Intent form to the superintendent of the child’s school district of residence at least 14 days prior to starting home instruction or within 14 days of establishing a child’s residence in a school district. The Statement of Intent must be accompanied by your child’s immunization record and proof of identity and must include the following:

  1. Child’s name and address, date of birth, and grade level
  2. Parent’s name and address and qualifications
  3. Any public school courses or extracurricular activities in which the child intents to participate and the corresponding school district (or approved nonpublic school in the case of extracurricular activities)

Homeschool Recordkeeping in North Dakota

In North Dakota, homeschooling families are required to maintain academic records of their students. Here’s a list of what should be kept on file:

  • Courses taken by the child
  • Child’s academic progress assessments
  • Standardized achievement test results
  • Other records relating to the instructional and educational activities

An organized recordkeeping system will prove helpful in times of educational transition or when preparing for college applications. Most parents keep records with a homeschool portfolio to showcase their child’s growth and progress throughout their journey.

Homeschool Graduation Requirements in North Dakota

North Dakota is one of the few states that issues high school diplomas to homeschooled students. Since homeschools are regulated at the district level, high school diplomas will be issued by the corresponding school district of the child’s residence, an approved nonpublic high school, or the center for distance education. Parents must submit the following in order to obtain a diploma:

  1. Description of course material covered by high school subject
  2. Description of course objectives and how they were met
  3. Transcript of performance in grades 9-12
  4. Any other reasonable proof deemed appropriate by the entity granting the diploma that shows your child has completed requirements for high school graduation

Alternatively, submitting the above documentation, with completion of at least 22 units of high school coursework, may result in the issuance of a high school diploma, which may include an indication that the child was provided home education. Full details can be found on the Legislature site.

Public/Private School Homeschool
North Dakota diploma requirements Public/private school students must complete 22 credits of required coursework and the state-mandated Civics Exam. Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements and can issue their own homeschool diploma; students of private/online schools may receive diplomas from those institutions. Homeschooled students in ND may be issued a high school diploma from their home school district, approved nonpublic school, or center for distance education.
North Dakota high school testing requirements Unless exempted through an Individualized Education Plan, all high school students in ND must take a Civics Exam. ND requires standardized testing in grades 4, 6, 8, and 10 unless you qualify for an exemption. Homeschool students are required to take the state-mandated Civics Exam.
North Dakota high school transcripts Enrolled students will have access to official transcripts provided by their school district of residence or private school. Homeschool parents may create their own student transcripts, and may include any information they deem pertinent to colleges, military, and/or future workplace organizations.
North Dakota high school course credits Students graduating with North Dakota high school diplomas must have 22 credits of required coursework. Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements; for the purpose of creating transcripts, some homeschool parents do assign credits to individual courses.
GED eligibility Given a state-mandated minimum age of 16 in ND, individuals may take the GED test. The same requirements for eligibility apply to homeschoolers as to public school students.

Returning to Public School after Homeschooling

If you are returning your child to public school after homeschooling, you must submit your record-keeping documents from homeschooling to the superintendent of your child’s school district.

Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in North Dakota

Have other questions about homeschooling in North Dakota? You may find the following pages helpful.

Welcome to Homeschooling Guide

Download this FREE resource where experienced homeschoolers share their stories for how to begin homeschooling, understanding your child academically, planning your days, and much more.

Get My Homeschool Guide Now!

PreK - 8th

$19.95$24.95
  • Monthly First Student
  • $14.95/month for each additional student

9th - 12th

$30.00$34.95
  • Monthly Per Student
  • Includes 4 courses

Get Started!

Stop, Start, Pause Anytime

Sign Up

TOP