New Mexico Homeschool Laws & Requirements
Are you looking to start homeschooling in the Land of Enchantment? Being familiar with New Mexico homeschool laws can help ensure that you have a hassle-free, positive experience. There are several homeschool requirements that parents must adhere to in New Mexico, however, the state’s homeschooling laws are pretty simple to understand and abide by.
Below you’ll be able to learn more about New Mexico homeschool requirements and other useful information regarding recordkeeping, graduation requirements, and more.
- New Mexico Homeschooling Requirements
- New Mexico Homeschool Registration
- Homeschool Recordkeeping in New Mexico
- Homeschool Graduation Requirements in New Mexico
- Returning to Public School after Homeschooling
- Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in New Mexico
This information should by no means be interpreted as legal advice. It is your responsibility to interpret and understand the laws that you will be homeschooling under.
New Mexico Homeschool Requirements
New Mexico’s compulsory school attendance laws apply to children between the ages of 5 and 18. Parents need to comply with the following requirements when homeschooling in New Mexico:
- Be the child’s parent or legal guardian and have a high school diploma or GED (you must have a copy of your diploma in your files).
- Notify the New Mexico Public Education Department within 30 days of starting your homeschool.
- Homeschool for the required amount of time, generally 180 days.
- Teach the required subjects of reading, language arts, math, social studies, and science.
- Keep a copy of your child’s immunization records.
- Send written notification that you will continue to homeschool by Aug 1st every year.
As far as curriculum is concerned, New Mexico homeschooling laws grant parents the freedom to use the homeschool materials that they feel are best for their children. The state does not provide materials to homeschoolers, however parents may request to borrow books from public schools, however, they are not required to oblige.
Homeschooled students may participate in school-sponsored activities and events, but must meet certain requirements. The local superintendent’s office can provide further information.
New Mexico Homeschool Registration
Families who are going to begin homeschooling in New Mexico must first notify the state. A Home School Notification Form is available online for parents to fill out electronically or to print out, complete and send by mail. This must be completed within 30 days of establishing your homeschool. In addition, families must re-register every year before August 1 for as long as they continue to homeschool.
More information relating to the home education rules for New Mexico can be found at A2ZHomeschooling.com.
Homeschool Recordkeeping in New Mexico
New Mexico homeschool laws don’t have specific requirements for recordkeeping. However, it is always recommended that families keep homeschool portfolios for their children. Portfolios typically includes grades, attendance, writing assignments, and sometimes even pictures from field trips. For older students, having a portfolio or high school transcript can be useful, perhaps even necessary, if your child is planning on enrolling in public school at some point or attending college.
Homeschool Graduation Requirements in New Mexico
Homeschooled children in New Mexico are not considered public school students and therefore do not receive a high school diploma from the state. Although New Mexico homeschool laws don’t specifically mention graduation requirements, students may graduate in one of the following ways:
- New Mexico High School Equivalency Credential – Students can take either General Education Development Test (GED) or the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET)
- Homeschool Diploma – Having the parent graduate the student based on credentials decided on by parents
- Non-New Mexico Diploma/High School Equivalence Certificate – Graduating through a home school program, correspondence course or distance learning school
Keep in mind that depending on the school/program you use to receive a diploma, some many not be recognized by certain colleges and universities, so it’s always important to do your research beforehand. If your child plans on receiving an undergraduate degree and has passed their GED, he or she may be eligible for the New Mexico Legislative Lottery Scholarship that helps pay a portion of college tuition.
Enrolling in Public School after Homeschooling
If perhaps you are wondering how to transfer from homeschool to public school in New Mexico, it’s important to know that the school board will determine the appropriate grade level for your student either based on the child’s age or the student’s score on a state achievement test. Local school board policy dictates whether or not to accept credits earned from homeschooling. In addition, parents must send written (or electronic) notification to Secretary of Education letting them know that the child will no longer be homeschooled.
Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in New Mexico
Have other questions about homeschooling in New Mexico? You may find the following pages helpful.
- Homeschooling in New Mexico
- New Mexico Homeschooling Groups & Co-ops
- New Mexico Homeschool Associations
- Homeschool Field Trips in New Mexico
Welcome to Homeschooling Guide
Download this FREE resource where experienced homeschoolers share their stories for how to begin homeschooling, understanding your child academically, planning your days, and much more.