New Hampshire Homeschool Laws & Requirements
While homeschooling is legal in all 50 states, every state has different governing rules that parents must comply with. On this page, you’ll learn how to contact a participating agency to submit your letter of intent, what subjects you are required to teach, and how to stay compliant with New Hampshire’s homeschooling laws.
- New Hampshire Homeschooling Laws
- Your Notice of Intent
- Homeschool Recordkeeping in New Hampshire
- Homeschool Graduation Requirements in New Hampshire
- Returning to Public School after Homeschooling
- Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in New Hampshire
This information should by no means be interpreted as legal advice. It is your responsibility to interpret and understand the laws that you will be homeschooling under.
New Hampshire Homeschooling Laws
In New Hampshire, the laws for homeschooling mandate that parents meet certain requirements to be in compliance with the law. Those are:
- Ensure instruction between the ages of 6 – 18.
- Send a notice of intent to the school principal listing all students’ names, birth dates, and addresses within 5 days of beginning homeschooling.
- Teach the required subjects:
- The history of the constitutions of New Hampshire and the United States
- An exposure to and appreciation of art and music
- Keep a portfolio of work samples for each student. The portfolio should be preserved for two years after instruction has ended.
- Have each student evaluated annually. Acceptable methods are testing, meeting with a certified teacher and reviewing the student’s portfolio, or a combination of both.
Homeschooled students in New Hampshire can participate in curricular courses and co-curricular programs offered by the school district in which they reside. Co-curricular classes include activities which are designed to supplement and enrich regular academic programs of study, provide opportunities for social development, and encourage participation in clubs, athletics, performing groups, and service to school and community.
More information relating to the home education rules for New Hampshire can be found at A2ZHomeschooling.com.
Your Notice of Intent
A notice of intent is usually a letter or an online registration form alerting the school district to you plan to homeschool. The New Hampshire notice of intent must meet the following guidelines:
- Send a notice of intent within 5 days of beginning homeschooling to one of the following:
- The commissioner of the department of education
- The school district superintendent
- The principal of the school
- Notice of intent must include a list of students’ names, birth dates, and addresses of all children ages 6 through 18
* Most homeschoolers typically send their notice of intent to their local school district.
Homeschool Recordkeeping in New Hampshire
New Hampshire homeschooling parents are required to create an annual portfolio of student work samples for all children. These must be saved for a period of 2 years following the final day of instruction. Creating portfolios with your students can be a very enjoyable activity and a great way to applaud effort and progress. For a little help and inspiration, please visit our Homeschool Portfolios page.
Parents must also save a copy of each student’s year end evaluation. If you decide to enroll your child in a public or private school, these help to place your child in an appropriate grade level.
Also, if you have a high school student who plans on attending college, a high school transcript is essential.
Homeschool Graduation Requirements in New Hampshire
As in most New Hampshires, graduation requirements in New Hampshire are determined by the parents. The NHDE requires no graduation-specific testing or evaluation. However, if you are considering enrolling your high school students in public or private school, please refer to the comparison chart below:
|New Hampshire diploma requirements||Students must complete 20 credit hours in English, mathematics, science, US and NH history and government, Economics, World History or Geography, Health, Physical Education, Art, Information and Communications Technology, and 6 credits in electives.||Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements and can issue their own homeschool diploma; students of private/online schools may receive diplomas from those institutions.|
|New Hampshire high school testing requirements||11th graders take the College Board School Day SAT and the NH SAS for science.||Homeschool students are not subject to testing requirements for graduation.|
|New Hampshire high school transcripts||Complete a transcript request form and mail to the NHDE. Fee is $20 per transcript.||Homeschool parents may create their own student transcripts, and may include any information they deem pertinent to colleges, military, and/or future workplace organizations.|
|New Hampshire high school course credits||Students must complete 20 credit hours: 4 English, 3 math, 2 science, 2 history and social studies, ½ Information and Communication Technology, ½ Economics, ½ art, ½ health, 1 Physical Education, and 6 credits in electives.||Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements; for the purpose of creating transcripts, some homeschool parents do assign credits to individual courses.|
|GED eligibility||Students must be 18 (16 – 17 year olds can file a waiver) and be residents of NH at time of test.||The same requirements for eligibility apply to homeschoolers as to public school students.|
Returning to Public School after Homeschooling
One of the benefits of homeschooling is the freedom to begin and end when you choose. If for whatever reason, you feel that homeschooling is no longer the best choice for your family, you’ll need to enroll your children in a new school.
Do you know how to transfer from homeschool to public school in New Hampshire? No worries! Simply gather as much documentation as possible to show achievement and ability level. Acceptable documents are transcripts, test scores, a portfolio of work samples or a combination of the above. If no documentation is provided, the school will evaluate and place your child.
Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in New Hampshire
Have other questions about homeschooling in New Hampshire? You may find the following pages helpful.
- Homeschooling in New Hampshire
- New Hampshire Homeschooling Groups & Co-ops
- New Hampshire Homeschool Associations
- Homeschool Field Trips in New Hampshire
Welcome to Homeschooling Guide
Download this FREE resource where experienced homeschoolers share their stories for how to begin homeschooling, understanding your child academically, planning your days, and much more.