Nevada Homeschool Laws & Requirements
If you’re researching homeschooling laws in Nevada, you’ll discover that the Silver State’s requirements for homeschooling aren’t as strict as other states. Nevada also doesn’t have restrictions for homeschooled students to participate in classes, special education services, sports and other extra-curricular activities at a public school. All that’s asked of parents is to file a Notice of Intent to Participate in Programs and Activities form (NOIPPA).
It’s important to note that homeschooled students in Nevada are exempt from compulsory attendance, that means there are no specific days or hours per day that parents must homeschool. There are also no standardized test requirements for homeschooled students.
This page will allow you to become more familiar with Nevada’s homeschooling laws so you’ll know what’s expected of you as well as what your options and rights are.
- Nevada Homeschooling Requirements
- Nevada Homeschool Letter of Intent
- Homeschool Recordkeeping in Nevada
- Homeschool Graduation Requirements in Nevada
- Returning to Public School after Homeschooling
- Information on Nevada Homeschool $5,000 Fund
- Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Nevada
This information should by no means be interpreted as legal advice. It is your responsibility to interpret and understand the laws that you will be homeschooling under.
Nevada Homeschooling Requirements
If you’re wondering what the requirements for homeschooling are, there are 2 basic rules you need to ensure you follow:
- File a one-time Notice of Intent (NOI) to homeschool form, along with an Educational Plan of Instruction.
- Teach the required subjects in your homeschool
- English (including reading, composition, and writing)
- Social Studies (including history, geography, economics, and government)
Nevada Homeschool Letter of Intent
The first step in order to start homeschooling in Nevada is to complete a Notice of Intent (NOI) Form. This is required for each child age 7-18 and must be submitted to the superintendent of the school district in which the child resides. Parents have 10 days to file their NOI after withdrawing their child from school or 30 days to file if they moved to the state. Once the school district received your NOI, they will send you an acknowledgement of receipt.
Your notice of intent should include:
- Your child’s full name, gender and age
- Your name and address
- A statement letter declaring you have the legal right to direct your child’s education and that you assume full responsibility of their education while being homeschooled.
- An Educational Plan of Instruction which must include the required subjects stated above.
- A statement prohibiting release of the information you have provided in your NOI (optional)
The Educational Plan should be a general outline of what you plan on teaching your child and not a daily lesson plan or schedule. Homeschool laws in Nevada also state that parents cannot be denied their NOI if they include an Educational Plan of Instruction for all the required subjects and submit their fully completed NOI.
More information relating to the home education rules for Nevada can be found at A2ZHomeschooling.com.
Full Details of Nevada’s Homeschool Laws
Homeschool Recordkeeping in Nevada
In Nevada, there are no required records for parents to keep when homeschooling. However, many families choose to maintain a homeschool portfolio for their own records and to keep track of their child’s progress. These can be helpful since they make it easier to create a high school transcript when the time comes, especially for those students planning to attend college.
Homeschool Graduation Requirements in Nevada
The state of Nevada does not have any specific graduation requirements for students who are homeschooled. It is advisable that parents follow or customize an appropriate course of study or high school program based on the student’s plans post graduation. However, parents are free to review graduation requirements for public, private or online high schools if they so choose.
Homeschooled students in Nevada will not receive a high school diploma from a public school, but parents can generate a diploma to present to their student upon completion of high school. Parents are also in charge of creating their own transcripts, especially if the student plans on receiving a post-secondary education.
Enrolling in Public School after Homeschooling
If your family chooses to return to a brick and mortar school at some point, it’s important to know a few things that may be asked of you.
Students in grades K-6 that are enrolling in public school may be asked to take a placement test to determine the age-appropriate grade level based on their abilities. For students in middle school, completed coursework may be reviewed and perhaps an evaluation to determine grade level placement.
Students entering the ninth grade are usually subject to a placement test as well. In addition, certain required courses for eighth grade public school students will have to be completed before being promoted to ninth grade. It is advisable that the parents of homeschoolers in seventh and eighth grade contact their local public school to meet those requirements early on. Students entering high school mid-way through their freshman year and beyond may ask that the school evaluate their past coursework in order to determine placement. Placement tests may also be taken. Families should be prepared to deal with school districts who are resistant to accepting credits from ‘non-accredited’ institutions, even though the law requires districts to consider these credits.
Information on Nevada Homeschool $5,000 Fund
Many families often ask about homeschool funding in Nevada. While a Nevada Education Savings Account (NV-ESA) program was passed in 2015, it was never funded and is now non-operational. The ESA would have provided state funds to pay for educational expenses such as tuition and fees for schools and other approved participating entities, textbooks, tutoring, fees for standardized tests, and more for qualified students. However, eligibility is based on numerous factors including having been enrolled in a public or charter school for 100 consecutive days.
In addition, students would be required to take standardized tests every year, which a homeschooled student in Nevada is not required to do by law. Many families consider the requirements of an ESA off-putting since homeschoolers in Nevada have so many freedoms and minimal obligations.
Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Nevada
Have other questions about homeschooling in Nevada? You may find the following pages helpful.
- Homeschooling in Nevada
- Nevada Homeschooling Groups & Co-ops
- Nevada Homeschool Associations
- Homeschool Field Trips in Nevada
- Unit Study Supplement: Facts About Nevada
Welcome to Homeschooling Guide
Download this FREE resource where experienced homeschoolers share their stories for how to begin homeschooling, understanding your child academically, planning your days, and much more.