Minnesota Homeschool Laws & Requirements
If you are considering homeschooling in Minnesota, getting started isn’t all too hard. By law, every parent has the right to homeschool their child if they wish to do so. But there are some requirements that need to be met.
Minnesota homeschool laws require all children between ages 7 – 17 to receive instruction, and home education is one way to fulfill this requirement. Continue reading this page to find out what guidelines you need to follow to homeschool legally in the state of Minnesota.
- Minnesota Homeschooling Laws
- Your Notice of Intent
- Homeschool Recordkeeping in Minnesota
- Homeschool Graduation Requirements in Minnesota
- Returning to Public School after Homeschooling
- Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Minnesota
This information should by no means be interpreted as legal advice. It is your responsibility to interpret and understand the laws that you will be homeschooling under.
Minnesota Homeschooling Laws
Minnesota requires homeschoolers to follow these rules:
- Parents are “qualified” to teach their own children in Minnesota (If someone other than the parent will be teaching, he or she must possess specific credentials.)
- Submit an Initial Report to Superintendent by Oct 1st for all children older than 7 years old and within 15 days of withdrawing your child from a public school in order to begin homeschooling.
- Submit a Letter of Intent to Continue Homeschooling to the superintendent by Oct 1st each year for all children 7 through 17 being sure to include any changes.
- Parents must teach the following subjects: reading and writing, literature and fine arts, mathematics, science, history, geography, economics, government and citizenship, health, and physical education.
- All students must take a “nationally normed achievement test every year unless the homeschool is accredited by a state-recognized accrediting agency,” and both the parents and the superintendent must agree as to which test is used and where it is taken as per the MDE.
- Parents must keep diligent records of the following:
- proof that all required subjects are being taught
- proof of required annual testing and descriptions of all assessment methods
- proof of immunization
- a copy of your schedule
- descriptions and samples of all educational materials
- curriculum being used in your homeschool.
- If you move out of your local school district, you must notify the superintendent’s office within 15 days of your move.
Under Minnesota education laws, homeschoolers are welcome to participate in their school district’s extracurricular activities on the same basis as public school students. Not all states allow such participation, and other states that do allow it have a set of requirements in place to allow participation.
More information relating to the home education rules for Minnesota can be found at A2ZHomeschooling.com.
Your Notice of Intent
Minnesota parents are required to submit a notice of intent to homeschool to the superintendent of the school district in which they reside by October 1st each year for all children between the ages of 7 and 17.
The initial notice of intent must include the following:
- Names and birthdates of all children for whom you plan to homeschool
- Address of each child being homeschooled
- Names of annual test(s) you plan to use
- Instructor’s name
- Evidence of teaching credentials if necessary (required if instructor is not the parent)
- Proof of immunization compliance at age 7 and again in 7th grade
Each subsequent year after up until your children turn 17, you must submit a letter of intent to continue homeschooling being sure to alert the superintendent of any changes.
Homeschool Recordkeeping in Minnesota
The Minnesota education laws mandate that homeschooling parents keep detailed records of their homeschooling program. Documentation must include:
- Proof that all required subjects are being taught
- Proof that annual standardized tests have been administered to all homeschooled students
- A copy of your schedule
- A description of all assessment methods
- Copies of all instructional materials
Although not required by the MDE, many homeschooling parents like to keep portfolios of their children’s work each year which not only serves as an assessment tool, but also makes delightful keepsakes for years to come. You can share this task with your students by asking them to periodically choose some of the favorite work samples and projects. For a more detailed description of homeschooling portfolios and some great how-to information, please visit our Homeschool Portfolios page.
|Minnesota diploma requirements||Students must complete a minimum of 21.5 course credits including Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies, Arts, Physical Education and 7 course credits in electives.||Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements and can issue their own homeschool diploma; students of private/online schools may receive diplomas from those institutions.|
|Minnesota high school testing requirements||There is no state testing requirement for graduation; however, seniors like all other students, must take an annual assessment test.||Homeschool students are not subject to testing requirements for graduation.|
|Minnesota high school transcripts||Students need to contact their high school or use the Minnesota E-Transcript Initiative which will send either a digital or paper copy of the student’s high school transcript to any college of their choice. There is a small fee unless costs are subsidized.||Homeschool parents may create their own student transcripts, and may include any information they deem pertinent to colleges, military, and/or future workplace organizations.|
|Minnesota high school course credits||Students must complete the following course credits: 4 Language Arts, 3 Math (Algebra I and II, Geometry, and Statistics Probability), 3 Science (Biology + Chemistry, Physics or Career and Tech Instruction), 3.5 Social Studies (US History, World History, Geography, Government and Citizenship and Economics), 1 Art, Phys Ed and 7 Electives.||Parents determine when their student has fulfilled graduation requirements; for the purpose of creating transcripts, some homeschool parents do assign credits to individual courses.|
|GED eligibility||Must be 19 years old and not currently enrolled in high school or be 17 or 18 years old, not currently enrolled in high school, and apply for an age waiver. For more information please visit the MDE Adult GED page. Must bring a valid, current government-issued ID to the test site.||The same requirements for eligibility apply to homeschoolers as to public school students.|
Returning to Public School after Homeschooling
One of the benefits of homeschooling is the flexibility to continue on a year-to-year basis for as long as you desire. The MDE does not address reentering the public school system following homeschooling. So, if for whatever reason, you decide you no longer wish to homeschool, you will need to contact your school district to inquire about the enrollment process.
When you meet with the school administration, be sure to supply all available records you’ve kept for each child such as test results, most recent portfolios, end-of-year evaluations, etc. as these will greatly help the school principal to successfully place your children in the most appropriate grade level.
Additional Resources Related to Homeschooling in Minnesota
Have other questions about homeschooling in Minnesota? You may find the following pages helpful.
- Homeschooling in Minnesota
- Minnesota Homeschooling Groups & Co-ops
- Minnesota Homeschool Associations
- Homeschool Field Trips in Minnesota
- Minnesota Test Prep
Welcome to Homeschooling Guide
Download this FREE resource where experienced homeschoolers share their stories for how to begin homeschooling, understanding your child academically, planning your days, and much more.